Our People

Staff |Board of DirectorsMedical Advisory BoardYoung Professional Board


Doug Armstrong, RN, MS, Founder & CEO

Patrick Smith, Director of Camping
Colleen Triezenberg, Program Director

Jessica Doletzky, CCLS, CTRS, OutReach and Family Liaison Director

Mike (“Coach”) Parker, Volunteer Director

Ami Walsh, Communications Director, ext. 504

Patty Jacobs Warner, Director of Development, ext. 503
Louisa Artelt, Associate Director of Development, ext. 505
Roxann Howard, Gift Administrator, ext. 506

Sissy Phillips, Development Generalist, ext. 516

Jeff Boots, Facility Director
Jo Ellen Soesbee, Facility Administrative Assistant
Jess Bloom, Facility Associate

Bill Grier, Chief Financial Officer/Chief Operating Officer
Mary Ann Fithian, Human Resources & Community Engagement Director

Teresa Breymaier, Administrative Specialist

Rebecca Patrias, MD, Medical Director

Board of Directors

Lisa Schwartz, Chair
Project Management Consultant and Owner, Ode to June

Ebon E. Wilkins, Vice Chair
American Allstars Athletic Center/Fairways Golf Academy

Bill McCurdy, Treasurer
Vice-President, Portfolio Manager and New Business Development Officer, Bank of Ann Arbor

Steven Berger, Secretary
CVO, First Choice Building and Maintenance, LLC

Vice President, Berger Realty Group

Matthew Denenberg, MD
Vice-President Medical Affairs, Helen DeVos Children’s Hospital

Kate Henry
Camp Champion, Young Professional Board Liaison 

Doug Armstrong, RN, MS, ex officio
CEO, North Star Reach

Monica Philipp, ex officio
Chair, North Star Reach Young Professional Board

Emily Edkins, Fellow
University of Michigan, Steven M. Ross School of Business – Graduate Student 

Past Board Chairpersons: Steven Berger, 2017-2018; Brian Rooney, 2015-2016; Sean Bryne, 2014; Sheri Mark, 2011-2013

Medical Advisory Board

Matthew Denenberg, MD, Chair
Vice President for Medical Affairs, Helen DeVos Children’s Hospital

Jacob Bilhartz, MD
Asst. Professor, Gastroenterology and Transplant Hepatology, C.S. Mott Children’s Hospital

Roland Chu, MD
Pediatric Hematology/Oncology, Children’s Hospital of Michigan

Robert McCurren IV, MD
Regional Vice President, Emergency Physicians Medical Group

Rebecca Patrias, MD
Medical Director, North Star Reach
Medical Director, Three Chelsea Docs

Robert Takla, MD
Medical Director and Chair of Emergency Medicine, Ascension St. John Hospital and Medical Center

Alison Tothy, MD
Chief Experience and Engagement Officer, University of Chicago Medicine Comer Children’s Hospital

Doug Armstrong, RN, MS
Founder and CEO, North Star Reach

Young Professional Board

Formed in 2017, the mission of the Young Professional Board is to raise funds and awareness for the benefit of North Star Reach and its campers. The group, which meets monthly, plans and hosts events throughout the year.


Monica Philipp, Board President
Regional Director of Development, College of Literature, Science and the Arts,
The University of Michigan

Jamie Buhr, Board Co-Vice President
President, Midwest Graphics & Awards

Laura Jackson, Board Co-Vice President
Marketing Coordinator, ComSource, Inc.

Madison Chadwick, Board Secretary
Account Executive, Optomi Professional Services

Morgan Broekhuizen
Physician Assistant, IHA Chelsea Orthopedic Specialists

Seth Broekhuizen
Global GTM Strategy Manager for Duo Security

Robert Henry
Vice President – Investments, Stifel

Alison Herrick
Financial Controller, Watershed Hospitality Group, LLC

Gabe Lemmen 
Registered Nurse, Michigan Medicine

Mike Scarborough  

Cristina Spurlin
Quality Analyst, Trinity Health

Tom Wille
Promotional & Commercial Video Director, Constant Motion Productions

Kate Henry, ex officio
Member, North Star Reach Board of Directors